Tamil Nadu Assembly polls: AIADMK releases 1st list; CM to contest from Edappadi

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswami addresses ahead of the state assembly election, in Chennai on Thursday. (ANI Photo)


Tamil Nadu’s ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) on Friday released the first list of candidates for six seats in the upcoming state Assembly polls.

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami will contest elections from the Edappadi constituency and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam will contest from Bodinayakanur.

The first list includes the names of six candidates, including CM Edappadi K Palaniswami and Deputy CM O Panneerselvam.

Other candidates include D Jayakumar for Royapuram, CV Shanmugam for Villupuram, SP Shanmuganathan for Srivaigundam, and S Thenmozhi for Nilakottai assembly constituency.

Tamil Nadu assembly elections will be held in a single phase on April 6 and the counting of votes will be done on May 2.

Polls will be held for 234 seats in Tamil Nadu with the Congress-DMK and BJP-AIADMK alliance being the major groups contesting against each other.

The assembly elections in the southern state are important for the national as well as the regional political parties.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.


Source link

Also Read:  'Want to expand reach': Tejashwi Yadav on RJD contesting Assam Assembly polls

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here