Joe Biden’s Cabinet – CBS News

Tracking Biden's Cabinet picks as the incoming administration takes shape

Table of Contents

Washington — President-elect Joe Biden has nominated and appointed 25 people to serve in his Cabinet: the 15 heads of the executive departments, and 10 individuals who the president designates as cabinet-level. Adding Vice President-elect Kamala Harris brings that number to 26.

Mr. Biden spent the weeks after the election preparing to take the helm of the federal government, while many in the Trump administration would neither acknowledge his victory nor help with the transition. This has delayed the Senate’s consideration of his Cabinet. However, five of his nominees testified in their confirmation hearings on the eve of Mr. Biden’s inauguration, and some may be confirmed as early as Inauguration Day.

The president-elect has praised his Cabinet as one of “firsts,” with a number of his nominees poised to break barriers if they are confirmed by the Senate.

Here are the people Mr. Biden has tapped to serve in the top ranks of his administration:


  1. Agriculture: Tom Vilsack
  2. Commerce: Rhode Island Governor Gina Raimondo
  3. Defense: Retired General Lloyd Austin; January 19 confirmation hearing; January 21 House Armed Services waiver hearing.
  4. Education: Miguel Cardona
  5. Energy: Former Michigan Governor Jennifer Granholm
  6. Health and Human Services: California Attorney General Xavier Becerra
  7. Homeland Security: Alejandro Mayorkas; January 19 confirmation hearing.
  8. Housing and Urban Development: Congresswoman Marcia Fudge of Ohio
  9. Interior: Congresswoman Deb Haaland of New Mexico
  10. Justice Department: Judge Merrick Garland
  11. Labor: Boston Mayor Marty Walsh
  12. State: Tony Blinken; January 19 confirmation hearing.
  13. Transportation: Pete Buttigieg; January 21 confirmation hearing.
  14. Treasury: Janet Yellen; January 19 confirmation hearing.
  15. Veterans Affairs: Denis McDonough


  1. White House chief of staffRon Klain; not a Senate-confirmed position.
  2. Council of Economic Advisers: Cecilia Rouse
  3. Office of Management and Budget: Neera Tanden
  4. Director of National Intelligence: Avril Haines; January 19 confirmation hearing.
  5. Small Business Administration: Isabel Casillas Guzman
  6. U.S. Trade Representative: Katherine Tai
  7. U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations: Linda Thomas-Greenfield
  8. Environmental Protection Agency: Michael Regan
  9. Special envoy for climate: John Kerry
  10. Science adviser and director of Office of Science and Technology Policy: Eric Lander

This article is sourced from CBS News

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here